16
Jan

I'm not having much luck finding a new job. I've tried big sites, little sites, local sites. Most either don't have jobs that I am qualified for, or I don't ever get a response. It's very frustrating.

Well, I got an e-mail from the www.employment-source.net for a job I wasn't even remotely qualified for, but when I went to their site they had one that did look right for me.

I've poked around here and have read a bunch of stuff about recrutiers and head hunters and quite frankly it boggles my brain.

Are my chances any better with a smaller board like this? What are? What should I expect? Help?!?!?!?!


Answer:
It could be a recruiter or an employment agency using that site. Your chances really depend on how active that recruiting agency is and how doggedly they're hiring for that position.

I can promise you this. Your chances are zero if you don't apply.

If you're feeling frustrated by the job search, then try targeting jobs a little better. Far too often people use the "click and apply" convenience of job boards, apply for jobs they in no way shape or form have a chance of getting, and then get depressed when they don't hear anything back. Try only applying for jobs you have a high interest in and have a good set of qualifications for. Then, take more time and care applying for them. You should net better results that way.


Answer:
What a place like www.employment-source.net does is collect your information for recruiters and match you to jobs they have in their database. Whit the job market so tight and there being competition at a national level for every job, you may not always get a call back, but your chances are probably better than if the job was posted on Monster or Career Builder. The worst that happens is no one calls, and your situation stays the same.

Good Luck!


Answer:
Oh man, it's so annoying trying to find a job. I was unemployed for a few months before finding something. I know exactly how you feel.

I haven't heard of the site, but it's probably a recruiting site. Basically companies hire recruiters to fill their unemployed positions. If there's an opening, why not apply? You can't get a job if you just ignore the opening. I say go for it–and good luck!!


Answer:
It's a scam - and what's worse is that they employ shills to post on Yahoo Answers to try to persuade you that they are legitmate. Check the other answers that some of these contributors have given and you will find that they cluster together to give answers, all give each others the thumbs up and are part of the act. Watch the number of thumbs down that this answer will "mysteriously" get.

Anyhow, as you have worked out, the job offer was completely irrelevant to your resume because they are simply trying to collect personal data for telemarketing. In some cases they will offer you a "job" such as posting on message boards, or maybe making phone calls but only to keep the illusion going.

A good thing to do with these sites is check out their WHOIS data which will tell you when the domain was registered and who to. It turns out that employment-source.net was registered on December 5th to an anonymous owner. Someone is trying to hide something, for sure.

Book Mark it-> del.icio.us | Reddit | Slashdot | Digg | Facebook | Technorati | Google | StumbleUpon | Window Live | Tailrank | Furl | Netscape | Yahoo | BlinkList
This entry was posted on Wednesday, January 16th, 2008 at 10:07 pm and is filed under Careers & Employment. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or TrackBack URI from your own site.

Leave a reply

Name (*)
Mail (*)
URI
Comment